Soapbox Competition

“Wind energy – the future or a blot on the landscape?”

National soapbox competition to highlight the importance the European Union place on Climate Change.

The National Final was held in Farmleigh, Dublin on the 19th November 2010.

1st Prize – Nancy Carragher, Thurles,
2nd Prize – Eoghan Costello, Galway
3rd Prize – Michael Dwyer, Wexford.
The winner of each local soapbox won an iPad, a trip to Brussels and chance to compete against the other local winners for an overall prize of €1,000 in Farmleigh.

The panel of judges for the final included Professor John Sweeney of NUI Maynooth, Dr. Brian Motherway, Chief Operations Officer, SEAI and Dr Padraig Murphy, School of Communications, DCU and the event was chaired by Barbara Nolan, Director of the European Commission Representation in Ireland.

The Final:

Regional Competitions:



[iframe src=”” width=”300″ height=”182″  ]
[iframe width=”300″ height=”182″ src=”″]
Blancharstown Winner: Colm O’Laoi 


[iframe src=”” width=”300″ height=”182″  ]
Galway Winner: Eoghan Costello


[iframe src=”″ width=”300″ height=”182″  ]
Dundalk Winner: Sadhbh McCann


[iframe src=”” width=”300″ height=”182″  ]
Killarney Winner: Matthew Higgins


[iframe src=”” width=”300″ height=”182″  ]
Letterkenny Winner: Eimear Henderson


[iframe src=”” width=”300″ height=”182″  ]
Thurles Winner: Nancy Carragher
Waterford City:
Waterford City Winner: Michael Dwyer